Best Free AI Clip Generator 2026

AI Clip Maker Free Pricing Comparison

Best Free AI Clip Generator in 2026: What Each Free Plan Actually Gives You

A comparison of free AI clipping plans by minutes, watermark, and export limits — read directly off each vendor's own pricing page on 4 August 2026, not ranked, because "best" depends on how many minutes you actually need.

H

Hevin K

Author

Updated
8 min read

Every clipping tool markets a free plan, and every free plan means something different. “Free” ranges from 3 free videos ever to 100 minutes a month, from no watermark to a hard 3-day expiry on your exports. This is not a ranked list — the right free plan depends entirely on how much source video you have and what you’re testing for — so instead it’s a straight comparison of what you get, read off each vendor’s own pricing page on 4 August 2026. ScaleReach’s own free allowance moved from 30 to 100 minutes on 7 September 2026 and is stated at the current figure; every competitor figure is still as read on 4 August.

Disclosure: this is published by ScaleReach, one of the eight tools compared. Its own free plan is listed with the same limitations as everyone else’s.

Free plan comparison

ToolFree allowanceRecurring?WatermarkExport/storage limit
ScaleReach100 minutesMonthlyYes30 min max per upload
Vizard60 credits (60 min upload)MonthlyYes, 720p export3-day project storage
Opus Clip60 credits (60 min)MonthlyYesClips not exportable after 3 days, no editing
Descript60 media minutes, 100 one-time AI creditsMonthly (minutes)Not stated on plan card—
2short.ai30 minutes of analysisMonthlyNot statedFast exports capped at 60 min/month on paid Lite tier, not free
RiversideUnlimited recordingN/A — not minute-meteredYes, 720pMagic Clips included even on free
Submagic3 videosOne-time, not recurringNot stated—
KlapNone———

One credit equals one minute of source video on Vizard and Opus Clip, so their free tiers are directly comparable to each other and to ScaleReach’s minutes. Descript and 2short.ai meter differently enough that a direct minute-for-minute read is close but not exact — see the notes below.

What each free tier is actually for

ScaleReach — 100 minutes/month, watermarked, renews monthly, 30 min cap per upload. The largest monthly minute allowance in this comparison, enough for roughly three 30-minute podcast episodes through the full pipeline — real viral-moment detection, captions, and reframing on your own footage. The catch is the per-file cap: any single upload is limited to 30 minutes on the free tier, so the 100 minutes only spend on sources that are already short enough, and a longer episode needs splitting first. Renews every month rather than being a one-time trial, so it works as an ongoing low-volume option, not just a demo.

Vizard — 60 credits/month, 720p export, 3-day storage. Double ScaleReach’s free minutes, but the free-tier export is capped at 720p and watermarked, and unexported projects vanish after 3 days. Good for testing clip quality on a longer source video; the storage window means you need to export promptly.

Opus Clip — 60 credits/month, watermarked, no editing, 3-day export window. Same minute allowance as Vizard, but the free tier explicitly excludes the editor — you get auto-generated clips only, no manual adjustment — and exported clips stop being downloadable after 3 days even though the credits are monthly. If you want to actually edit before you commit to a paid plan, this tier won’t let you.

Descript — 60 media minutes/month, 100 one-time AI credits. The most usable free tier by watermark policy: nothing on Descript’s plan card states a watermark restriction, and clipping is one feature inside a full text-based editor rather than the whole product. The AI credits (for generative features like Studio Sound or Overdub) are separate from the 60 minutes and are a one-time grant, not monthly.

2short.ai — 30 minutes of analysis/month. The smallest recurring minute allowance here, but every feature — face tracking, animated subtitles, brand presets — is unlocked on every tier including free, so the free plan isn’t feature-limited, only volume-limited. Fast server-side export capping at 60 minutes/month is a Lite-tier ($9.90) detail, not part of the free plan.

Riverside — unlimited recording, Magic Clips included, 720p watermarked export. Different unit entirely: Riverside doesn’t meter free-tier minutes because it’s a recording platform first. If you’re recording remote interviews and want clips from the same session, the free tier lets you test the full recording-to-clip pipeline, just at 720p with a watermark.

Submagic — 3 free videos, no card required. Not a recurring monthly allowance — three videos, once. Best read as a one-time trial of caption quality rather than an ongoing free option. Submagic’s actual long-video clipping feature (Magic Clips) is a separate paid add-on even on paid plans, so the free trial mainly demonstrates captions, not clip discovery. For a long-form-first option, see the direct ScaleReach vs Submagic comparison.

Klap — no free tier. Klap’s pricing page lists Basic, Pro, and Pro+ with no free option, only a money-back guarantee on paid plans. If a genuine free tier matters to you, Klap is excluded by default rather than by a limitation within a plan.

The three things that actually differ

Monthly allowance, and separately the per-file cap. ScaleReach gives 100 minutes, Vizard, Opus Clip and Descript 60 each, 2short.ai 30. But allowance and maximum upload length are two different limits, and the second one decides whether a given video is usable at all. A 45-minute podcast episode fits inside Vizard’s, Opus Clip’s and Descript’s 60 minutes and uploads as one file. It fits inside ScaleReach’s 100 minutes with room to spare and still needs splitting, because the free tier caps any single upload at 30 minutes. It does not fit 2short.ai’s 30 minutes either way. So the tool with the most minutes is not automatically the tool that will take your longest video — check both numbers before assuming a free tier covers your source. And if your volume is serious, no free tier will cover it: we priced the cost to clip 10 hours of podcast a month across seven tools, and the largest free allowance covers a sixth of that workload.

Whether the free tier is monthly or one-time. Submagic’s 3 videos are a trial that runs out. Every other tool listed except Riverside renews its allowance every month, so it stays usable as a genuine ongoing option for low-volume creators, not just a way to kick the tires once.

What the watermark or export limit actually blocks. A watermark alone (ScaleReach, Vizard, Opus Clip, Riverside) still lets you judge clip quality and caption accuracy — you just can’t post the output publicly. Opus Clip’s free tier goes further and removes the editor entirely, and its 3-day export window means an unexported clip is gone even though you’re inside your monthly credit allowance. That’s a meaningfully different kind of “free” from a watermark you can plan around.

FAQ

Which AI clip generator has the most generous free plan by minutes?

By raw monthly minutes it is ScaleReach at 100, ahead of Vizard, Opus Clip and Descript at 60 each and 2short.ai at 30 — though ScaleReach caps a single upload at 30 minutes on the free tier, so the other three take a longer individual video in one piece. Note this page is published by ScaleReach; the figure is stated because it is what the pricing page says, not as a verdict. Descript’s free tier is the only one of the minute-metered set that states no watermark restriction. Riverside doesn’t cap free-tier minutes at all because it meters recording differently, not upload length.

Is there a genuinely free AI clipping tool with no watermark?

Descript’s free plan card does not state a watermark limitation, which makes it the one clear exception in this comparison — every other tool listed watermarks free-tier exports. Confirm on Descript’s own pricing page before relying on this, since plan terms change.

Does Opus Clip’s free plan let you edit clips before exporting?

No. Opus Clip’s own pricing page states editing is not included on the free tier — you get auto-generated clips as they come out of the pipeline, with export blocked entirely after 3 days even if you haven’t used your monthly credits. This is a real constraint that vendor comparisons on price alone tend to skip.

Which tool has no free tier at all?

Klap. Its pricing page lists three paid tiers (Basic, Pro, Pro+) and a money-back guarantee, but no free plan. If testing without any commitment matters, exclude Klap and compare the other seven.

Are these free-tier minutes worth using to actually test clip quality, or just to see the interface?

For minute-metered tools (ScaleReach, Vizard, Opus Clip, Descript, 2short.ai) the free tier runs the real clipping and captioning pipeline on your own footage, not a demo video, so it’s a genuine quality test — just watermarked and volume-limited. Riverside and Submagic’s free tiers work the same way for their respective jobs (recording-to-clip, and caption polish). None of the eight tools compared give you a synthetic or degraded pipeline on the free tier; the limitation is volume and export, not quality.

Disclosure

This page is published by ScaleReach, which competes with every tool listed. ScaleReach’s own free tier — 100 minutes/month, watermarked, 30 minutes maximum per upload — currently carries the largest monthly allowance here, and its restrictions are stated in the same detail as every other tool’s, including the per-file cap that the allowance figure alone hides. No free tier is ranked above another; the comparison is by allowance and restriction, not verdict.

No affiliate links. No vendor paid for placement. Competitor free-plan terms were read from each vendor’s own pricing page on 4 August 2026; ScaleReach’s own allowance changed on 7 September 2026 and is stated at the current figure. All terms are subject to change — verify before publishing further comparisons against this page. For paid-tier pricing and cost per source minute, see the best AI video clipping tools and best Opus Clip alternatives roundups.

Found a free-plan term that’s changed? hevin@scalereach.ai.

Related articles

View all
ScaleReach call to action background

Get more from every video

Generate Clips — Free

No credit card required · Free to start